In the beginning

Everyone says that I should really ‘do’ a blog. They’re talking to someone who has never managed to keep a diary after January 12th. So I asked them. “Why.”
There was some muttering and then someone says, “Well it’ll help sell your book.”
Along the lines of ‘buy the book or the blog gets it’ perhaps?
Anyroad, I’m just obeying orders, (Like every good husband I default to the Nuremburg defence) and am writing this.
Which then begs a question; just exactly what am I to write about? I suppose I can tell you that the book is great and there’s another one coming out soon. Well I can do that in less than a dozen words. Admittedly I’m going to get pretty bored of it after the first couple of times, and I suspect it’s going to pall with you as well.
Someone said that this blog thing is to show people how brilliant I am. Thinking about it, that’s easier. Every week I just type in ‘still brilliant’. This might be the way forward, even I could probably automate this, and you wouldn’t even need to read it as you know what it says. All you have to do is mutter knowingly to a friend, ‘I hear Jim is still brilliant’ and you’ve played your part to the full. (I’d suggest you restrict this to once per friend per week. Otherwise people might have their doubts about you.)
Or I could actually write about something interesting. I know at this point some kind soul is going to say something along the lines of “Why break the habits of a life time.” What is it the man said, all the worlds a stage, but the only queue is for the critic’s seat.
So it looks like a plan. But not just now; there is an elderly three legged Border Collie bitch who has just pointed out to me that she would appreciate a walk. Given that it isn’t actually raining, a quiet stroll down to the beach seems to be the next item on the agenda. Earlier this morning when feeding calves I noticed there is snow on the fells, so the view should be worth the effort.

2 thoughts on “In the beginning

  1. willmacmillanjones November 5, 2012 at 8:18 am Reply

    And he’s off and running…..

  2. M T McGuire November 5, 2012 at 10:02 am Reply

    And they’re under starters orders… Hello.

Leave a Reply

