Give folk what they want

Not a long blog, just a comment really. Everyone told me that ‘you’re a writer; you’ve got to have a blog’.
The idea being that you mention your books in a blog and people are so overwhelmed with the deathless quality of your prose they dash off to buy the books.
So I’ve been doing this for five months; my thoughts so far?
It has been my experience that the less I mention writing, or my books, or anything like that, the more popular the blog post is. The two most popular are when I ranted about horsemeat in burgers.
The third most popular article sums up the whole shebang for me to be honest. The one that crops up in the search engines, the one that everyone wants to read, is ‘Marks and Spencer knicker adverts’.
It probably tells you everything you need to know about culture and the internet doesn’t it?

6 thoughts on “Give folk what they want

  1. Jill March 18, 2013 at 4:39 pm Reply

    Jim, you have always been an entertaining writer.. good ranting is an art.. 🙂
    Observations of life are often the most popular blogs.

    Then people become curious about the books.
    Jill

    • jwebster2 March 18, 2013 at 5:24 pm Reply

      I must admit there are times when I’ve considered ranting professionally, but have restricted myself to art for arts sake 🙂
      The hope is that eventually people become curious

  2. Alex Roddie (@alex_roddie) March 18, 2013 at 5:08 pm Reply

    I absolutely agree. I have come round to the philosophy that the purpose of a blog (and by extension social media in general) is NOT to sell your books, but to look after your readers once they have already bought your books–to add some value to their lives. If a writer’s blog doesn’t provide something of interest and value (beyond the usual promotional posts) then it won’t be widely read.

    My tactic is to produce a variety of articles aimed at my target audience, only a tiny fraction of which are actually about my books. The result? A small but growing (and passionate) following of readers.

    • jwebster2 March 18, 2013 at 5:27 pm Reply

      I do like the idea of ‘adding value to their lives.’ It is a great strapline for a writer.
      At the moment it seems that I am now adding value to the lives of people who crave M&S Knicker advertisements. It did rather surprise me when I typed it into Google and discovered my blog was about the 5th link down

  3. M T McGuire March 18, 2013 at 6:18 pm Reply

    Mwah ha hahrgh… that’s great. I was having this same conversation with several people the other day about the same thing… you might even have been one of them. My stuff about McMini gets far more hits, followers etc than anything I put about writing on my blog. Although my highest hitting post was one labelled “Are all indie books crap?” or something like that.

    Cheers

    MTM

    • jwebster2 March 18, 2013 at 10:09 pm Reply

      Well this one’s certainly provoked the most discussion 🙂

Leave a Reply

