Yeah well.

Life is, apparently, a gas, but I just wish it wasn’t hurting my shoulders so much at the moment. But then I’m getting ahead of myself.

This week has been an interesting week, on Tuesday, youngest daughter and I had a trip up Coniston Old Man in glorious weather, cracking afternoon.

Wednesday I’m in hospital having my gallbladder out by keyhole surgery. I finally get out of Furness General Hospital at about twenty to ten at night (they insist you can walk, pee and generally look after yourself before letting you go which is fine by me), got home and got to bed.

Now I expected pain and discomfort from where they’d cut me open, but apparently when doing keyhole surgery they put Carbon Dioxide into you and this leaks everywhere, and eventually before it dissipates it can collect at your shoulders where it gives you jip!

It feels a bit like having a pulled muscle.

Only in both shoulders simultaneously.                             

Anyway I’m currently not up to doing much, sitting at the computer is sort of bearable for a while but frankly I’m more comfortable sitting in an armchair reading.

But with one thing and another my concentration isn’t perhaps what it should be, so I put aside those books that were worthy or interesting and looked round for something to read. Then I found it, Jack Vance’s Lyonesse trilogy. I bought the first volume in 1984!

 http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0575090243/

(the three books in one volume, go on, you know you want to)

Soon I’m lost in the story and there’s still another two chunky volumes to go.

And for me this is what books are about. This is great writing. Forget the highfalutin literature; just give me a damned good book.

 

So if anybody asks me what I want to write, this sums it up. If in ten years time somebody goes into hospital or whatever, then I’d be chuffed if when they pack their bag they put into it the well thumbed copies of Justice 4.1 and its sequels. (Or make sure they’re on their kindle/nook/e-reader of choice) Not because it’s what you ‘ought’ to read, or what you ‘should be seen reading’ but because that’s what they want to read because they know it’ll lift them out of the uncomfortable ‘now’, then I’ll call myself a writer.

 http://www.amazon.co.uk/Justice-4-1-Tsarina-Sector-Webster-ebook/dp/B00IPTBEQW/ 

Me, I’m going back to my armchair.

Tagged: , , , ,

24 thoughts on “Yeah well.

  1. kimatsafkhet May 2, 2014 at 3:07 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on Safkhet Publishing.

  2. willmacmillanjones May 2, 2014 at 3:20 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on willmacmillanjones and commented:
    A classical gas from Jim. As always.

  3. sherylbrowne May 2, 2014 at 3:30 pm Reply

    Indulge, Jim. That’s what reading is all about! Get better, but no before you’ve re-charged your inspiration! 🙂 xx

    • jwebster2 May 2, 2014 at 3:33 pm Reply

      Two more books of the trilogy to go, then I might have to dig out more of the old Jack Vance 🙂

  4. Rebecca Douglass May 2, 2014 at 3:37 pm Reply

    Get well quick! And I like your idea of literary success. Yeah, I’d be psyched to find someone packing one of my books for such an event. (I’m pretty sure “psyched” is a reasonable US equivalent of “chuffed”).

    • jwebster2 May 2, 2014 at 4:08 pm Reply

      I think you’re right with the translation Rebecca 🙂 But yes, what does make a good book? And it strikes me as a definition I’m happy with.
      Success isn’t literary awards, it’s people just loving the book. Mind you if this leads to the Scrooge McDuck experience of swimming through the piles of cash in my person savings vault I’m sure I wouldn’t let it spoil me 🙂

      • Rebecca Douglass May 2, 2014 at 4:18 pm

        Ah, the money vault. Yeah, I’d take that. But I’m not going to cry because I’m not winning the Booker Prize. I’m not writing that kind of book. I’m writing the kind of book that is highly flattered at being chosen for hospital stays and beach vacations.

      • jwebster2 May 2, 2014 at 4:23 pm

        Go for it, write books that are read, not artfully placed on coffee tables so that people are awed by your erudition 🙂

  5. M T McGuire May 2, 2014 at 4:31 pm Reply

    I reckon this post pretty much sums it up. I’m sort of ambivalent about reblogging so I’ve tweeted.

    Cheers

    MTM

    • jwebster2 May 2, 2014 at 5:18 pm Reply

      Glad you liked it MTM. If it’s of any interest to you, reading
      http://www.amazon.co.uk/Wrong-Stuff-KBarthan-Trilogy-ebook-ebook/dp/B007KCFVTQ/

      made the train trip down country to Euston just fly by 🙂

      • M T McGuire May 2, 2014 at 5:24 pm

        Oh wow. Well, I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I’ve had a few people, lately, tell me it’s rather more complicated than book 1 and they’re not sure they like it. I read http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00ECZIM4A on the plane to the States and loved it!

        Cheers

        MTM

      • jwebster2 May 2, 2014 at 6:13 pm

        I thought it was a logical progression from book 1 and enjoyed it. Glad you liked young Benor, at some point I’ll have to go back and add to his adventures.

      • M T McGuire May 2, 2014 at 8:17 pm

        Yeh, they’re brilliant. Top stuff and I’ll read more. Glad you liked book 2… obviously a man of taste and discernment. 😉

      • jwebster2 May 3, 2014 at 6:12 am

        😉

  6. Kay Kauffman May 5, 2014 at 7:51 pm Reply

    Isn’t that shoulder pain the worst? When I had surgery in January, it was the laparoscopic variety and I couldn’t lie flat for two or three nights afterward because the shoulder pain made it difficult to breathe. Still, it’s much better than open surgery. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

    • jwebster2 May 5, 2014 at 9:28 pm Reply

      Hi Kay, I think I’m over the shoulder pain now, just a bit of an ache last night and nothing during the day. But it’s just remembering to be careful about the ‘proper’ wounds because the shoulders seem worse

      • Kay Kauffman May 5, 2014 at 9:28 pm

        Indeed. That was something else.

      • jwebster2 May 5, 2014 at 9:47 pm

        Interestingly it’s one thing they never mentioned in advance, and some people don’t seem to experience any of it either. It may only be a proportion of us who do. The staff were aware it could happen when I asked them afterwards but they seemed to think it was a minority thing

      • Kay Kauffman May 5, 2014 at 10:12 pm

        That is interesting; my nurse mentioned it beforehand, but I was still surprised that the pain lasted as long as it did.

        When my kids were birn, they warned me that I could have a headache from the epidural. That never happened, thank goodness, but I figured it probably would. I was pleasantly surprised by my lack of headache. 🙂

      • jwebster2 May 6, 2014 at 6:23 am

        I was lucky in that I didn’t have much pain from the gallbladder problems themselves. Ladies who’d had it warned me it was more painful than childbirth, but I just had a nagging discomfort. (More like looking after teenagers than childbirth? 🙂 )

      • Kay Kauffman May 6, 2014 at 12:51 pm

        Lol! I’ve not had gallbladder trouble, so I don’t know about that, but I’m beginning to get a taste of the teenage years, and I think I’ll take childbirth over that. 😀

      • jwebster2 May 6, 2014 at 1:20 pm

        😉

      • Rebecca Douglass May 6, 2014 at 2:40 pm

        Thing is, I pretty much knew what to do in childbirth. Not a lot of options when push comes to shove. But this teen stuff–wow, I have no IDEA what I’m doing, and it’s my last chance not to screw them up completely!

      • jwebster2 May 6, 2014 at 2:53 pm

        Work on the principle that you didn’t turn out too bad and do what your parents did? 🙂

Leave a Reply

