Magical Places

I was told that you were a person of culture if you could hear the William Tell Overture without thinking of the Lone Ranger. Yet I told someone that a friend of mine had been to Argos and they asked whether it was to buy something or collect an Amazon purchase.

I got a message on Facebook linked to some photos this morning, from a friend who is on holiday in Greece.

The view was stunning. I’d sort of known which resort they were going to but it hadn’t really sunk in. But now I was on line I clicked on a link, called up google maps, scrolled out so I could see the wider area, and then it clicked. She’s in Argos. Not the store, the city.

 

Looking at the pictures got me thinking. I’ve never been to the place but I feel I know it. But should I go? After all if you’ve seen the Cadmea of Thebes in the company of Pelopidas, or walked dusty roads with Pausanias, won’t the smell of diesel fumes just spoil them? Wouldn’t it be better to go somewhere that I don’t know?

And this morning I had to open up the church so that a florist could put the flowers out for a wedding.

I walked up and the sky was utterly blue. I could look out over Morecambe Bay and see the Pennine hills in the background, with the rich blue of the sea centre stage. Far above me I could see four seagulls, riding the thermals off a neighbour’s barley.

The problem with living in a fabulous area is that a lot of the rest of the world can seem an anti-climax

 

Someone sent me a link to this; I can walk there in half an hour

 

piel

2 thoughts on “Magical Places

  1. opusanglicanum July 12, 2014 at 7:33 am Reply

    I was lucky enough to participate in the British school at Athens undergraduate summer school, and it really brought the texts alive for me. Pausanias doesn’t give you the heat, or the smell of dry grass, or the touch of the rocks under your feet

    • jwebster2 July 12, 2014 at 7:59 am Reply

      I must confess to feeling envious.
      Mind you on Tuesday morning I had to go up the Duddon Valley to Seathwaite.
      I got out of the car and the smell of ‘wet fell in the morning’ just swamped me and I remembered why this area is so hard to leave 🙂

Leave a Reply

