Making exciting mistakes and unexpected sartorial advice

Some people make really exciting mistakes, have you noticed that? Whereas some of us might fall asleep on the train, miss our stop and end up spending the night on the platform at Lancaster, (A station I’m fond of, the staff really do care) others somehow get entangled with dangerous and beautiful women, ridiculously large amounts of money, and a story they can dine out on for years.

This morning I was feeding sheep as normal. I kept glancing west (from where our weather comes, howling in across the Irish Sea) because it wasn’t looking good. I got the ewes who are inside fed, and then I had to go and check those outside. As I drove the quad across the field the sleet is blasting into my face, it’s chuffing cold and you know with absolute certainty that you’re going to end up soaked to the skin.

As an aside at this point, might I recommend to our American cousins that they contemplate the purchase of a flat cap instead of the usual baseball cap? I agree that the baseball cap is excellent for keeping the sun out of your eyes; the long peak is perfect for that. But the wind gets under the peak and can just whip the hat off your head and away. Whereas the flat cap, whilst less good where there is intense sun, does at least stay on your head when it’s windy.

But sartorial considerations aside, I managed to get home, get inside and warm up a bit. I downloaded my email, looked at the tasks that needed doing and decided to write my blog instead.

Because in ten minutes I’ll have to be out to check through the housed ewes to make sure they’re OK and that none of them have lambed or are lambing and are in need of assistance.

Four hundred ewes to lamb, they’re supposed to start in the middle of February, so by the last week in February the first tranche would have been well underway and the second tranche (whose romantic liaison with the tup was timed so as they’d start about the 8th March) will start lambing as the first group were finishing.

Except that the first group have dawdled, a couple a day at most through February and they’ve finally decided to start lambing properly now.

But anyway, after I’ve checked them, provided nothing goes wrong, I’ll have another brief window of opportunity to get all those things done that I promised people I would do as part of the launch for War 2.2

facepalm-chimp1

Yep, I did. It’s one of those unexciting mistakes you make because it seems such a good idea at the time.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/War-2-2-Tsarina-Chronicles-Webster-ebook/dp/B00U0OE23W/

Tagged: , , ,

9 thoughts on “Making exciting mistakes and unexpected sartorial advice

  1. The Story Reading Ape March 3, 2015 at 2:28 pm Reply

    Jim – when you’ve got a moment or two when you’ve got nothing better to do – can you add all the other share icons to those under your posts, so I can share them also on LinkedIn, Google+, StumbleUpon and the like when I’VE got nothing better to do lol 😀

    • jwebster2 March 3, 2015 at 2:39 pm Reply

      I think I’ve enabled the features 🙂 It’s awfully techie stuff this you know.

      • The Story Reading Ape March 3, 2015 at 2:46 pm

        You haven’t as far as I can see Jim – go to your ADMIN – Settings – Sharing and drag all the icons into the activate area 😀

      • jwebster2 March 3, 2015 at 3:10 pm

        Well that’s what I did and they’re on the page as I see it 😦 Perhaps now I’ve prodded things a bit and switched it off and on again, they’ll show 😦

      • The Story Reading Ape March 3, 2015 at 3:22 pm

        THAT’s better Jim – was able to share to more places 😀

      • jwebster2 March 3, 2015 at 3:37 pm

        If all else fails, switch in off and switch it back on again. Works with everything but I’ve never tried it with life support 😉

      • The Story Reading Ape March 3, 2015 at 3:41 pm

        NOT RECOMMENDED for Life Support Jim – otherwise you need to jump start the patient again…

      • jwebster2 March 3, 2015 at 3:59 pm

        trouble is you cannot just push them down hill with your foot on the clutch and then take your foot off the clutch when you think they’re going fast enough

      • The Story Reading Ape March 3, 2015 at 4:07 pm

        😀 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

