On the road

 

The weather these last few days been so good, especially for October. So I decided that I was going to get out for a decent walk.

I always find that a long walk gives you time to think, and without people constantly bothering me it’s great for getting rid of stress. I even left my phone at home.

Admittedly that was by accident, I just forgot it, but as it always travels switched off, it didn’t really make any difference.

I decided to get the train to Cark and Cartmel station and walk home, which is, in theory, about 20-22 miles depending what route you follow. I’ve done it before, in the heat of summer, and that got tough. So my idea for today was that I’d play it by ear, I could always get the train home at Ulverston if I was feeling particularly weary.

 

Technically I’m supposed to be winding up to do some book promoting because I’ve got a new story coming out, but I’ve subcontracted all that to Tallis Steelyard who said he’d do it for me.

https://tallissteelyard.wordpress.com/2016/10/21/the-frantic-scribblings-of-a-novelist/

 

So with a light heart and an easy conscience I set off. I got a good start, I was walking out of Cark at about 9am and it’s a long slow climb for nearly an hour up the ridge that runs to Bigland Tarn.

olf02_r1_33

 

 

From there you drop down onto the bottoms and across the footbridge to Greenodd

612948_9941fa61

 

(By the way, these are, as usual, borrowed pictures. I still don’t possess any form of camera. Which is another great saving in time and effort)

Here I got a bite to eat in the coffee shop before going over the tops and down into Ulverston. I decided to keep going at that point but somebody noticed me wandering along a couple of miles further south and gave me a lift home so I obviously looked suitably lost and pathetic. So I probably did fifteen or sixteen miles.

In the first three hours walking I must have seen perhaps four people. In the next bit it was almost crowded, even outside the major conurbations of Greenodd, Ulverston and Urswick I probably ended up saying hi to half a dozen people.

But this area must surely be one of the most unspoiled and empty areas in England, especially at this time of year.

But what did strike me was just how cheerful, friendly and generally nice people were.

So at this point I really must apologise for writing a blog without the obligatory rant. I know I have to do better, and I promise I will try, but frankly after a day like today, meeting people like those I was meeting, it gets awfully difficult to rant.

Tagged: , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “On the road

  1. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt October 22, 2016 at 7:11 pm Reply

    As soon as I can walk, I’m joining you. Meanwhile, take a couple of extra steps for me. I miss hiking most of all.

    • jwebster2 October 22, 2016 at 7:54 pm Reply

      yes, it’s one of life’s great joys

  2. Mick Canning October 22, 2016 at 7:37 pm Reply

    Cheerful, Jim? Whatever next? Must be the environment that does it!

    • jwebster2 October 22, 2016 at 7:54 pm Reply

      I know, I’m frightfully sorry about it and will try to improve

  3. stevetanham October 23, 2016 at 4:17 pm Reply

    Lovely journal. Very relaxed! And so close to us, here in Sedgwick.

    • jwebster2 October 23, 2016 at 4:26 pm Reply

      I have walked through Sedgwick, back when they were doing the viaducts on the line to Barrow and instead of getting the train to Lancaster, you got the bus from Grange to Oxenholm
      So one day I got a ticket to Arnside, got off the bus at Oxenholm and walked back to Grange and got the train home. It is a lovely area 🙂

      • stevetanham October 23, 2016 at 4:31 pm

        It is. We live on the line of the old canal (drained in the 1950s), so very much a part of the gunpowder history of the village.

      • jwebster2 October 23, 2016 at 4:38 pm

        I loved the canal bridges stuck in the middle of the fields, bridging a canal which is no longer there

      • stevetanham October 23, 2016 at 4:56 pm

        ‘Bridges to nowhere’ we call them.

      • jwebster2 October 23, 2016 at 5:06 pm

        They’re the ones, always wise not to ponder too long on the metaphor 😉

  4. A Bad Penny – Tallis Steelyard October 31, 2016 at 1:37 pm Reply

    […] If you can stand his self satisfied maundering, try https://jandbvwebster.wordpress.com/2016/10/22/on-the-road/ […]

Leave a Reply

