Oh Lord, not again

18010349_10158482735050133_4363548100454361162_n

 

Another election. Whoopee, be still my beating heart! Bring it on, let’s be having it. Six more weeks of endless social media bickering as people who hardly know each other slag each off because they believe in the wrong shade of pink.

A bit back somebody posted quite proudly that he’d been to the Britain First facebook page, discovered how many of his facebook friends had liked the page, and unfriended them.

Out of interest I went to the page and looked to see how many of my facebook friends had liked it. I then commented on his wall that I was struck by how young they were.

He asked if I’d unfriended them. I replied that he hadn’t.

Rather huffily he asked why not. I merely replied they were real people and I knew them in real life.

I don’t think that one had occurred to him.

 

But it’s strange. Writers tend to get a lot of writers as facebook friends, because that’s what writers do, because it’s exposure and getting your name out there.

But other than that, most of the people who I’m linked to on facebook are people I know, and some of them I even meet occasionally. In some cases the discussions on my facebook wall are continuations of discussions that happened the previous evening. Similarly facebook posts can be commented on in real life.

So when I see a friend of mine has ‘liked’ something like Britain First I don’t see a knuckle dragging moron. I see someone who’s probably sick of being talked down to and slagged off by people who had opportunities he hasn’t had.

 

And now we’ve got an election. Social media will doubtless become horrible and I’ve already started blocking stuff. Not people yet, just the mindless sources they keep trying to share. Life is too short for beaming smugly at yet another toddler proudly displaying the contents of their potty.

 

One worry is that people are going to try and ramp up the stakes. I’ve already seen people saying that this is the last chance we’ll have to save democracy. Please, stop assuming we’re stupid.

 

But even more worrying is that each election or referendum since the advent of social media has been more divisive than the last. We’re engaged in a dangerous experiment with our social cohesion. I suspect our problem is we haven’t got enough grown-ups left.

Can June come quickly enough?

Tagged: , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Oh Lord, not again

  1. willmacmillanjones April 18, 2017 at 4:59 pm Reply

    I’ve seen an entirely moronic senior journalist on the Guardian claiming that this is an attempted coup. Whilst it might be a grab for power – that’s what politicians do – a General Election cannot be described in those terms. It is puerile, but seems to be what we have descended to.

    • jwebster2 April 18, 2017 at 5:18 pm Reply

      That’s the problem, some people struggle to cope with democracy when the demos don’t back their particular hobby horse

  2. Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt April 18, 2017 at 5:17 pm Reply

    My deepest sympathies. The truth is easy to lose, whatever it is.

    • jwebster2 April 18, 2017 at 5:18 pm Reply

      I wonder if people will end up blaming the Russians here as well 🙂

      • Alicia Butcher Ehrhardt April 18, 2017 at 5:48 pm

        I wouldn’t wonder if the Russians hadn’t figuredout how to cause this – they have always been single-minded about certain things, whatever the cost.

      • jwebster2 April 18, 2017 at 9:18 pm

        To be honest I’d very much doubt it. It’s not as if there is anything particularly novel happening. Indeed if the Russians wanted chaos and division then they’d want the status quo, an election will answer too many questions

  3. lercio April 18, 2017 at 7:19 pm Reply

    Jim, the main problem is how to dress.
    Black shoes and Jeans are are neutral, I have a warm blue/grey/white check work shirt. Great for gardening. Can’t really say I favour it places me on any party .
    Trouble is I’ve just found an unused “Wierd Fish” bright red sweat shirt, just right for keeping the cold spring sea breezes from the north east coast.
    However. I will have to change it for an old grey anorack so that I don’t provoke and field with caution any questions at my local.
    Fortunately we don’t have to be bored witless for long. June means I won’t be wearing warm clothes because of the mild dry British summertime unless we have thunder storms.
    Doesn’t matter who wins the weathe like parliament will be changeable in early June 🙂

    • jwebster2 April 18, 2017 at 9:21 pm Reply

      I was out this evening with civilised people and there were perhaps three sentences exchanged with regard the election 🙂

      • lercio April 18, 2017 at 9:34 pm

        I mowed the lawn taking care not to run over some self seeded primroses.
        Must have a damp patch.
        The fist thing I see when I open the curtains. They seem to be in flower for ages. Pity I don’t get maples to do better 😊

      • jwebster2 April 18, 2017 at 9:59 pm

        first train your maples 🙂

  4. lercio April 18, 2017 at 8:05 pm Reply

    BTW is that a selfie?

    • jwebster2 April 18, 2017 at 9:21 pm Reply

      My hair has more grey now 😉

Leave a Reply

