Posturing political pygmies

Britain-London-Bridge_Horo-5-635x357

I’m supposed to be promoting books and stuff but frankly I’m just too hacked off. You see, a lad I went to school with was killed as collateral damage in one of the IRA bombs. So I know what his family went through. So when political pygmies cavort on the corpses of the freshly dead, waving a blood soaked shroud to attract attention I’m beyond nauseated, I’m downright angry.

And now the dead are being dragged into it. Somebody has to be blamed and who better than your political opponents?
How stupid do these people think we are?
Yes we know who cut police numbers.

And yes, we know who hobnobbed with murdering thugs, and who wants to drag the police into years of public inquiries as they refight the battle of Orgreave. Just as we know who has attacked various measures taken to try and keep track of terrorists and intercept their messages. We also know who says that joining ISIS is no crime.

And before the police come over all sanctimonious, they didn’t seem to suffer from a shortage of manpower when it came to mounting televised raids on the homes of aging rock stars (Cliff Richard anybody?). Similarly they managed to find plenty of money and man-hours to pour into the investigations of the ‘credible and true’ fantasist ‘Nick’. Mind you more than one senior politician put pressure on them over that one because it looked as if it might embarrass his political opponents.

So, to put it bluntly, just bluidy grow up!

 

Shut up and try and maintain a dignified silence and after a couple of days then come out and start talking as if you were sensible adults capable of proper grown-up conversations. Because to put it bluntly, we’re not so short of posturing self-absorbed idiots that we need to offer 80K a year, plus expenses, to attract more.

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

17 thoughts on “Posturing political pygmies

  1. simonjkyte June 4, 2017 at 8:35 pm Reply

    I am angry too but I completely disagree with you.

    • jwebster2 June 5, 2017 at 5:51 am Reply

      it is a sad day when somebody has to write something like this, but every so often the political class gets so caught up in its own petty bickering that it cannot see the real world and its pain 😦

  2. M T McGuire June 4, 2017 at 10:16 pm Reply

    I guess that’s what happens when events like this unfold while there’s an election on. I’m not sure which particular bit of the blame storming and political posturing got to you most, or whether it’s just all of it.

    All I know is that this is another warning no one will listen to. I’m beginning to think that this election will be won on brexit issues and voters will be blind to everything else. so the conservatives will get in and the dementia tax and a whole load of other crap that’ll make trump look liberal and compassionate will come. Because they said they won’t which means, on past performance, the opposite. And to me, whatever people think of Corbyn, he’s better than that.

    This is a new different type of poop on the turd. Just in case it wasn’t already a shoe-in for the far right as the conservatives are these days. Heaven forefend that anyone who started with nothing and did well for themselves should be allowed to pass anything on to their children. Heaven forefend that we should escape a clone of the Americans’ barbaric healthcare system. Speaking as the wife of a sink estate boy who made good however much tax he ends up paying under labour, at least our son will get to inherit something death duties and all. Fat chance of that under the tories, because like the last three generations of my family, I will go nuts at the end and require carers. My family all do.

    They’re all bastards…

    And so are the daesh.

    I’ve never felt so utterly depressed about an election in all my life. Not even the last time thatcher got in.

    Cheers

    MTM

    • jwebster2 June 5, 2017 at 5:55 am Reply

      What really confuses me is that May is also described as the most left wing conservative PM since Ted Heath. Which is why I don’t listen to commentators or politicians and just watch what they actually do.
      But yes, the whole thing has got to me, the lies, the manufactured propaganda. I tried to sit this election out and watch it ‘like a historian’ looking for trends. Frankly I’d say never try that. Elections are actually less annoying if you’re partisan and in there fighting because then only one set of lies annoys you 😦

      • M T McGuire June 6, 2017 at 12:38 pm

        Mwah hahahrgh! I dunno, I think most of it annoys me. I wish Theresa May would stop trying to tell people what they want to hear and just say what she thought though. It’s like listening to a robot. At least Corbyn seems more genuine. I’ll probably end up voting green.

      • jwebster2 June 6, 2017 at 1:05 pm

        I think May started off trying to tell the truth. Saying things that we might be able to stretch to a double lock on pensions but we couldn’t guarantee 2.5% whatever happened to wages and inflation. And think she discovered to her horror that the population isn’t mature enough to cope with it
        I suspect that may have come as a real blow to her psychologically

      • M T McGuire June 6, 2017 at 3:06 pm

        Yeh. I quite liked May at the start, it’s the others who worry me. Boris, Gove et al. But she seems like someone who has lost the will to go on being buffeted around by events.

      • jwebster2 June 6, 2017 at 3:15 pm

        I suspect she’s not used to the personal attacks. After all she’s not that sort of politician, she’s more ‘get on with the job.’ And having one or two photos where she’s been caught in an unflattering light blasted across the web endlessly probably doesn’t help
        She might be wondering whether frankly the job’s worth the candle. I suspect that it’s something that hits all decent people caught up in politics at times. The thought that, “At my age I can walk away, retire, and have a life. Why am I putting up with this crap.”

      • M T McGuire June 6, 2017 at 4:58 pm

        Yeh. I can imagine that might be the case

  3. Scottie June 5, 2017 at 12:09 am Reply

    Thank you. Thank you for remembering the victims are victims. They did not ask for nor want their part in this. I also thank you for remembering the families. So far I have seen a lot of stories and tweets and writings of the angers, threats, denouncing, and postering. I have seen political ideologies bandies about, and different people demonizing anyone with whom they disagree. What I have not heard is let’s take a moment to give thought to this person who is the mother of the victim, sister or brother of those killed, a father who is shattered and a lover who can not find hope because the one they loved was killed, murdered, in a senseless attempt to force a religion on people. For a few days we can stop making points with what we call each other. Let’s do what we can for those hurting. We can show we really care by doing something to make it better. give to a charity, volunteer, send cards to the hospitals. Go to care homes and comfort those upset and worried. Yes people who are stuck in a home or who are frail , elderly , or disabled get scared and worried. Give them comfort. There is so much more we can do than slogans. Sorry to go off like this, I just hate when when human suffering is used as a prop. Hugs

    • jwebster2 June 5, 2017 at 6:01 am Reply

      I saw what happened when the only son of a couple was killed. They were refugees, Jewish, and had met and had one child late in life after surviving the horrors of Europe and the war. The father closed his little tailor’s shop the day their son died and it never reopened and he died not all that long afterwards.
      You’re so right, people have to get off their backsides and get out there and do something real. Retweeting, clicking ‘like’ or signing a petition are irrelevant. Unless we pour out our lives like a drink offering then we’re wasting them 😦

      • Scottie June 5, 2017 at 1:40 pm

        Agreed. Thank you . Hugs

  4. Liz Wright June 15, 2017 at 7:32 pm Reply

    I need your bacs details to send you some dosh.

    • jwebster2 June 15, 2017 at 8:20 pm Reply

      you should have an email 🙂

Leave a Reply

