A Great Leap Sideways

Apparently it was Al Boliska who said, “Do you realize if it weren’t for Edison we’d be watching TV by candlelight?”

Well as you know I’ve got this interesting relationship with technology. Not so much ‘love-hate’ as ‘apathetic’

The fact that mobile phones have largely passed me by is well known. I carry a cheap old nokia mainly because the authorities get upset if they realise you’ve got a loaded Verey pistol on your person. But I use the phone as a Verey pistol. It’s almost as good but you don’t get the pretty lights.

Same with e-books; I write them but I’ve not got anything to read them on other than a desktop PC.

So I thought I’d do something about this.

Now I suppose the easy thing to do would be to get a kindle or something similar. But actually, after discussion with publishers etc I’ve decided to do it differently.

You see, when Safhket published Justice 4.1 the decision was taken to produce a paperback as well as an ebook. The paperback reached a lot of people who otherwise would never have seen the book.

When the next book in the series comes out in March, it’s going to get launched twice. In March it’ll come out as an ebook, but then later in the year, it’ll be launched as a paperback. This is because that launch will coincide, hopefully, with a range of miniatures to go with the books.

And then I’ve had a look at the fantasy.  They’re all ebooks, and weighing things in the balance, looking at sales, and the reception the books have had; we’ve come to the decision that they ought to be published in paperback as well, so the process is now underway. No dates yet, just vaguely ‘Summer/Autumn’ before they’re all out there.

And to coincide with them coming out in paperback I have bowed to pressure to write more about Benor Dorfinngil and his adventures. There are now six Benor short stories written and they’re with the editor. Together their common title is ‘The Port Naain Intelligencer’. Each is a ‘stand alone’ detective story/investigation. Each is about 16,000 to 20,000 words and the idea is they’ll appear as ebooks, priced at £0.99.  They’ll come out, on a regular basis, one a quarter, and at the end of the year, if they’re well received, the year’s stories will be published together in a paperback, probably with a few bits and bobs of other stuff.

If you’ve not come across Benor, then The Cartographer’s Apprentice is as good a place to start as any.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Cartographers-Apprentice-Jim-Webster-ebook/dp/B00ECZIM4A

All this is ready to roll, but dates and suchlike are inevitably tentative because there’s a lot of work for a lot of people and they’re all busy people.

I’ve even got a couple of 8000 word Benor short stories, set in Port Naain, that will appear, free, at some point. I know, wash my mouth out with soap and water, but it’s both a way of saying thank-you to those who have been so loyal buying the books, and also it’s the ‘crack-dealers gambit’ to hook new readers who haven’t somehow ever got round to trying the Benor Dorfinngil experience.

So you have been warned, Port Naain awaits.

Wharves

Tagged: , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “A Great Leap Sideways

  1. willmacmillanjones February 7, 2015 at 9:27 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on willmacmillanjones.

  2. M T McGuire February 9, 2015 at 5:27 pm Reply

    Blimey, I’m impressed at your rates of production. I seem to be having regular lumps of emotional plop which do slow production down. I’ll have to think of a way round that.

    I’m coming to the end of writing my current w.i.p. but it’s only 64k, which is worrying. It might make 68 but it feels a bit spare compared to my other stuff and the editing will probably take it back down to about 63. So it’s a novella. Which is a bit of a bummer.

    Also, I’ve been trying to sort out some behind the scenes marketing for mine, keywords and such, and development of a mailing list so I’m not at the whims of algorithms or fashion! I hope that I get a few more sales. Also may have to crowd source the editing and cover design costs for the next book… or do my own cover… which is always a bad idea.

    Cheers

    MTM

    • jwebster2 February 15, 2015 at 7:14 pm Reply

      Actualy 60-70K is apparently a good size. It makes for a sensibly priced paperback 🙂

  3. M T McGuire February 15, 2015 at 10:09 pm Reply

    So im hoping. 🙂

    • jwebster2 February 15, 2015 at 10:17 pm Reply

      Well most of my stuff is sort of 65,000 to 70,000 words and whatever comments I’ve had, nobody has ever said they were too short 🙂

      • M T McGuire February 15, 2015 at 10:38 pm

        Good point. They feel longer. They feel more involved.

      • jwebster2 February 16, 2015 at 3:42 pm

        It’s amazing what you can pack into a small space if you pack it tidily 😉

Leave a Reply

