Funny old world

You know what they say, “The sooner you fall behind the more time you’ll have to catch up.”

Hopefully today it’ll be right because I’ve spent most of it doing things that need doing but which weren’t even to be considered when I bounded cheerfully out of bed this morning. (Before you ask, yes I am a morning person. Milking cows for thirty years can reset anybody’s personal alarm clock.)

Still I was busy really. Had to check lambs, and whilst I was there I intended to cut some ivy that I’d noticed choking a tree and then I’d break up some logs and carry them back. Which all meant I had an axe with me, obviously.

And as I set off up the field this white van towing a trailer stopped and two chaps got out and walked into our yard.

This isn’t usual, or encouraged so I wandered back to find out what was happening. The felling axe clasped casually in one hand was a mere incidental.

As I passed their van I noticed cockles in the trailer. So if they’re cocklers, they might not even speak English. Ah well. It’s not an easy job, it’s a dangerous world out there

Morecambe_Bay,_abandoned_car

But they saw me and came back. This is where it’s useful not to jump to conclusions. They were two biggish chaps, and they were seriously hacked off with a genuine grievance. They’d had a trailer nicked the previous night. Someone in a blue Landrover with a white top had driven off with it, and had gone down our lane.

Problem with this is that it isn’t a dead end, you come out the other end and you can drive into town. Their trailer is probably somewhere in Barrow by now.

So if you know someone with a Blue Landrover who has just acquired a battered five to six foot trailer, with its drawbar replaced with heavy box section steel, and the back gate replaced by two sections of scaffolding pole, they’ve probably nicked it.

When I last saw them these two lads were going to the police and to have a word with various scrap yards in case someone tries to cash it in. But they were also going to have a quiet drive round various parts of town, just keeping their eyes open.

I hope they find their trailer, but I don’t think they are disposed to be particularly forgiving of the person who took it.

Tagged: ,

2 thoughts on “Funny old world

  1. M T McGuire October 10, 2014 at 4:25 pm Reply

    I’ve done nothing that I was supposed to do today but a lot of interesting and weird things have cropped up out of nowhere and filled the time. I’m knackered now.

    Cheers

    MTM

    • jwebster2 October 10, 2014 at 10:11 pm Reply

      Been an interesting day, late afternoon and evening were spent getting everything set up for these guys who put on a concert in our church.

      http://www.voceofficial.com/

      We sold out, capacity crowd of 100. A cracking night.

Leave a Reply

